top of page
Family Hiking

Duke of Edinburgh

Duke of Edinburgh


Login to access: Programme planner/kit list/ physical log/volunteering log/skill log.


About D of E 

At Ellowes we deliver the DofE award and its is open for EVERNYONE to get involved from Year 9 and beyond.  The Duke of Edinburgh award is A life-changing experience. A fun time with friends. An opportunity to discover new interests and talents. A tool to develop essential skills for life and work. A recognised mark of achievement; respected by employers.

The DofE is many things to many people, supporting generations to successfully navigate adult life.

At Ellowes anyone in years 9 and above can get involve in the programme at one of three progressive levels which, when successfully completed, leads to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award.

There are four sections to complete at Bronze and Silver level and five at Gold. They involve helping the community/environment, becoming fitter, developing new skills, planning, training for and completing an expedition and, for Gold only, working with a team on a residential activity.

Any young person can do their DofE – regardless of ability, gender, background or location. Achieving an Award isn’t a competition or about being first. It’s all about setting personal challenges and pushing personal boundaries.

Through a DofE programme young people have fun, make friends, improve their self-esteem and build confidence. They gain essential skills and attributes for work and life such as resilience, problem-solving, team-working,

The DofE is all about going the extra mile – gaining new skills, pushing yourself physically, helping others and exploring new territories. At the same time, you’ll gather friendships, experiences and memories that will last a lifetime.


At Ellowes our thriving group meets each week afterschool. You will learn skills in navigation, camp craft and leadership whilst completing physical, volunteering and skill-based challenges. You will be required to participate in a weekend away to prepare you for an expedition which lasts for two days and one night at bronze and two nights and three days at silver. The expeditions involve walking and camping in some of the most beautiful parts of Shropshire, Wales and Staffordshire.

Here are the Awards:


ASSESSMENT Using an online platform you will submit evidence for assessment which may include witness testimonies, photographs, videos and reports. In addition, an external assessor will visit you whilst on expedition to determine if you have met the required standards to achieve a Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Award.


PROGRESSION There are three levels of programme you can do which, when successfully completed, lead to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. The main differences between them are the minimum length of time they take to complete, how challenging they are and the minimum age you can start.


The DofE is highly regarded by employers, colleges and Universities, so take part in the adventure!

Bronze Award

For those aged 14+ years

(2 Day Expedition)

Silver Award

For those aged 15+ years (3 Day Expedition) 

Gold Award

For those aged 16+ years (4 Day Expedition) 

DofE Ellowes.png
bottom of page